Jul 15, 2014
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

Woolmark Prize announces American winners

Jul 15, 2014

The American winners of the Woolmark Prize 2014-2015 were announced on Monday in New York, at the conclusion of the event held at Milk Studios. Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne, the duo from Public School, emerged victorious for menswear, having previously won the 2013 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Award.

Dao-Yi Chow, Marcia Patmos and Maxwell Osborne

Marcia Patmos and her New York-based label M.Patmos, took the prize for womenswear. She will represent the USA during the grande finale of the International Woolmark Prize, facing off against winners from four other regions (Australia, Europe, India/the Middle East and Asia) in Beijing in March 2015.

The future menswear winner will be selected from among the regional competitors in the men's final in London in January 2015, as part of London Collections: Men.

Alexander Wang (creative director of Balenciaga and Alexander Wang) chaired the American jury, which also included Stefano Tonchi (W Magazine) and Steven Kolb, CEO of CFDA, the trade organization for North-American fashion.

Meanwhile, the labels The Emperor 1688 and Bird on a Wire won the India and the Middle East regional final on July 3. In the meantime, Augustin Teboul and Asger Juel Larsen were designated the two European finalists by a jury that included Peter Copping (Nina Ricci) and Tim Blanks (Style.com).

Copyright © 2022 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.